In Europe

Europa Nacht

Swiss-European Mobility Programme SEMP (formerly Erasmus)

UZH currently has over 400 exchange agreements in 50 disciplines with some 200 partner universities throughout Europe. UZH students can study for one or two semesters at a European partner university within the framework of the Swiss-European Mobility Programme (SEMP), formerly Erasmus.

Background information on the SEMP-Program and why Switzerland no longer counts as a direct participant in Erasmus can be found here.

Choice of Partner University

In selecting a partner university, you are bound to the agreement applicable to your subject area and academic level. These are called subject-specific exchange agreements and are administered by your department of study.

Subject-specific opportunities

In addition to these, there are a number of exchange places open to students in all subject areas, so-called non-subject-specific ("Diverse") agreements. These are administered by Global Student Experience.

Non-subject-specific opportunities

The exchange normally takes place in your major subject. To find out whether you are eligible to apply for an exchange in your minor subject, please contact your departmental coordinator. At many partner universities, exchange students can take courses in various subject areas. We encourage you to clarify this well in advance with the partner university.

Search portal

The Right Timing for your Exchange

The right timing for an exchange depends on your field of study. Please discuss this with your departmental coordinator. 

To study abroad, you must be matriculated at UZH and be at least in your second year of study.

List of Departmental Coordinators

An exchange for study purposes within the framework of the Swiss-European Mobility Programme must last at least 2 months but no longer than 12 months.

Provided your studies permit, we recommend an exchange period of two semesters. You can find the exact dates of the semesters on the partner university’s own website.

It is possible to study abroad for up to 12 months at every academic level (BA, MA, PhD).

Language

An exchange for study purposes is not the same as a stay abroad to learn a language. Please contact your departmental coordinator or the partner university directly for information on the language of instruction and the required language level.

Preparing for your exchange

Scholarships

Withing the framework of the Swiss-European Mobility Programme you have the opportunity to receive federal funding for your exchange stay. Students normally receive this grant to cover travel- and stay-related expenses. By applying for an exchange through UZH you automatically apply for this grant.

The calculation of the grants is based on the effective duration of the lectures (not taking into account introductory events and examinations which take place outside of the lecture period). 

Students in this program who choose an environmentally friendly mode of transportation are also eligible to apply for the Green Travel Top-Up.

Innerhalb Europas

Europa Nacht

Swiss-European Mobility Programme SEMP (ehemals Erasmus)

Die UZH unterhält zurzeit über 400 Austauschverträge in 50 Fächern mit rund 200 Partneruniversitäten in ganz Europa. Studierende der UZH können im Rahmen des Swiss-European Mobility Programme (SEMP), ehemals Erasmus, ein oder zwei Semester an diesen Partneruniversitäten studieren.

Hintergrundinformationen zum SEMP-Programm und weshalb die Schweiz nicht mehr direkt als Teilnehmerin von Erasmus gilt, finden Sie hier.

Auswahl der Partneruniversität

Bei der Auswahl der Partneruniversität gibt es einerseits diejenigen Abkommen, die in Ihrem Fach für Ihre Studienstufe bestehen. Diese nennen sich fachspezifische Abkommen, und werden von Ihrem Studienfach administriert.

Fachspezifische Angebote

Andererseits gibt es auch sogenannte fachübergreifende Abkommen ("Diverse Abkommen"), die von der Abteilung Global Student Experience administriert werden.

Fächerübergreifende Angebote

Der Austausch findet üblicherweise im Hauptfach statt. Ob Sie sich auch für Abkommen in Ihrem Nebenfach bewerben dürfen, können Sie bei der betreffenden Fachkoordination in Erfahrung bringen. An vielen Partneruniversitäten können Austauschstudierende Kurse in verschiedenen Fachbereichen belegen. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, dies frühzeitig bei der Partneruniversität abzuklären.

Zeitpunkt und Dauer eines Auslandaufenthalts

Der richtige Zeitpunkt für einen Austausch hängt von Ihrem Studienfach ab. Ihre Fachkoordination kann Sie hierbei beraten. 

Fachkoordinierende

Zum Zeitpunkt eines Austausches müssen Sie an der UZH immatrikuliert sein und sich mindestens im zweiten Jahr des Studiums befinden.

Ein Austausch zu Studienzwecken im Rahmen des Swiss-European Mobility Programme muss mindestens 3 und darf höchstens 12 Monate dauern. 

Wenn es sich mit dem Studium vereinbaren lässt, empfehlen wir einen Aufenthalt von zwei Semestern. Die genauen Semesterdaten finden Sie direkt auf der Website der jeweiligen Partneruniversität.

Es ist möglich, auf jeder Studienstufe (BA, MA, PhD) bis zu 12 Monate im Austausch zu verbringen.

Sprachkenntnisse

Ein Studienaustausch ist kein Sprachaufenthalt. Über die Unterrichtssprache und die vorausgesetzten Sprachkenntnisse informieren Sie sich direkt bei der Fachkoordination oder bei der Partneruniversität. 

Sprachvorbereitung

Stipendien

Im Rahmen des Swiss-European Mobility Programme kann Ihr Austausch mit einem vom Bund finanzierten Zuschuss gefördert werden. Studierende erhalten in der Regel einen Zuschuss zur Deckung der Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten (der Zuschuss betrug 2019/20 CHF 1600.- pro Semester), und mit der Bewerbung um einen Austauschplatz an der UZH bewerben Sie sich gleichzeitig für den Zuschuss.

Studierende dieses Programms, die sich für ein umweltfreundliches Transportmittel entschieden, können sich zusätzlich für den  Green Travel Top-Up bewerben.