FAQs for Exchange Students

Degree-seeking students please consult these FAQs

General

Question Answer
Is accommodation provided by UZH? There is a limited number of rooms reserved for UZH students which are managed by the ETH/UZH Housing Office. Exchange students will receive an application link from Global Student Experience around mid-May/beginning of June (for the fall semester) and beginnig/mid-October (for the spring semester). The Housing Office is in charge of allocating rooms. Please note that we cannot guarantee that you will be allocated a room, and students are therefore encouraged to research accommodation individually as well.
Can I apply to UZH as an exchange student even if there is no exchange agreement with my home university? Yes, if you meet certain criteria. Please find more information on the page Regular Visiting Students

Courses

Question Answer
Where can I find all the courses offered by UZH? In the UZH online course catalogue
How many ECTS should I take? We recommend taking between 20 and a maximum of 30 ECTS per semester, but please check with your home university if they have any specific requirements.
Can I take courses outside of my field of study? The majority of your courses must be from the same field of study you are enrolled in at your home university. However, if you have the required prerequisites, you are allowed to choose one or two courses from a different field.  
Can I take ETH courses? You can book at most two ETH courses, however bear in mind that these may count for no more than one third of your overall ECTS points. Please be aware that the exams at ETH Zurich take place later than at UZH, namely in August (spring semester) and February (fall semester), which might cause problems for students who cannot stay in Zurich that long. Please keep in mind that you will be registered at ETH as an UZH student and, therefore, not have the same privileges as an ETH exchange student. Also, as ETH is a different university, we cannot offer any administrative support in regard to these courses. Due to these restrictions we recommend that students stick to booking UZH courses.
What happens if I fail an exam? If you fail a course you will not receive the ECTS for the module and it will be marked as not successful on your transcript of records. 
Do I need to be proficient in German to attend certain courses? Students who intend to take courses in German or English Literature and Linguistics must submit proof of proficiency at level C1 as defined by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) in the respective language. For all other students, UZH recommends a minimum level of B2 in the language of instruction.
How do I book modules?

You can find instructions here.

Factsheet Course Catalogue (PDF, 343 KB)

Application Process

Question Answer
I was nominated for two semesters but the dates on Mobility Online do not correspond with this, even though I indicated this in my application.  Even though you indicated a stay of two semesters, Mobility Online saves your application with standard values. Once we process your application we will change the dates manually. 
I'm about to complete my exchange application and I just realized that my passport has expired. I will not be able to get an appointment to renew my passport before the application deadline. What do I do? In order to complete your application, you can upload a copy of your old passport on Mobility Online. As soon as you have received your new passport, please send us a copy by email. Please note that in case you need a visa, we will only be able to start the application process with a valid document.
When will I know whether I have been accepted or not? For the fall semester you will be informed in May, for the spring semester you will be infomed in November.

What is a tentative/definite study plan and why must I submit this twice?

Please note: this does not apply to SEMP-students

 

A tentative study plan must be submitted in your application and serves to identify potential courses in the semester you are applying for, and whether these are available to exchange students. For this, please provisionally consult the courses offered in previous semesters, respectively. The definite study plan is handed in before the semester begins and includes courses offered during the semester you will spend at UZH. This reflects your final choice of courses that you will book.

Who signs my study plans? 
What do I do with my fully signed study plans?
Your study plan needs to be signed by the relevant  UZH departmental coordinator(s) in charge of your subject/field of study. Please upload your study plan complete with all the required signatures to Mobility Online.

Finances

Question Answer

How do I apply for the SEMP grant?

Please note: this only applies to SEMP-students

By applying for an exchange through the SEMP-Programme you automatically apply for this grant. A separate application is not necessary.

When will I receive my SEMP grant?

Please note: this only applies to SEMP-students

Your SEMP grant will be handed out to you cash at the beginning of the semester.
Can I apply for the Heyning-Roelli Foundation scholarship before receiving the acceptance letter?

Yes. However, you do need to inform them that you will send it to them as soon as you receive it.

Heyning-Roelli Foundation

During Your Exchange

Question Answer

Who signs my Learning Agreement? 
What do I do with my fully signed Learning Agreement?

Please note: this only applies to SEMP-students

Your Learning Agreement needs to be signed by you, your home university and the the respective UZH departmental coordinator(s) in charge of your subject/field of study. Please upload your Learning Agreement complete with all the required signatures to Mobility Online.
How do I book language courses? You can book language courses on the website of the Language Centre. Places are limited and allocated upon entry of registration.
When do the exams take place?

The exam dates vary from faculty to faculty; please consult your departmental coordinator(s).

Further information can also be found on selected faculty websites:

Faculty of Law

Faculty of Science

Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics

Can I work while studying? Yes, under certain circumstances. Please find more information here.

Completion of your Exchange

Question Answer
Where and when can I download my transcript of records? Transcript of Records
Can you send an official transcript of records to my university?

Your transcript is available for download from the UZH Student Portal. Should your home university not accept transcripts sent directly from students, we can forward these to your home university in exceptional cases, and as long as we have your authorization to do so (for data security reasons you must send us your transcript beforehand). Your home university also has the option of verifying your transcript.

Where can I get my certificate of attendance signed? Please make an appointment with us or send us the document of your home university by email to have it signed. 
Is there something I should do before leaving Switzerland? Before Leaving Switzerland

 

Further information on your stay at UZH can be found under the heading Organizational and Practical Matters

FAQs für Austauschstudierende

Internationale Masterstudierende orientieren sich bitte an diesen FAQs. 

Allgemein

Frage Antwort
Wird Housing durch die UZH organisiert? Ein kleines Zimmerkontingent für Austauschstudierende wird durch das ETH/UZH Housing Office verwaltet. Austauschstudierende erhalten von Global Student Experience Ende Mai/Anfang Juni (für das Herbstsemester) bzw. Anfang/Mitte Oktober (für das Frühjahrssemester) einen Link zum Bewerbungsformular. Die Zuteilung der Zimmer wird vom Housing Office vorgenommen. Bitte beachten Sie: Da die Anzahl Zimmer für Austauschstudierende begrenzt sind empfehlen wir Ihnen, sich auch individuell um Ihre Unterkunftssuche zu kümmern.
Darf ich mich an der UZH für einen Austausch bewerben obwohl meine Heimuni kein Abkommen mit der UZH hat? Ja, wenn Sie bestimmte Kriterien erfüllen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Seite Reguläre Gaststudierende

Kurswahl

Frage Antwort
Wo finde ich alle UZH-Kurse? Im Vorlesungsverzeichnis der UZH 
Wieviele ECTS muss ich nehmen? Wir empfehlen 20 bis maximal 30 ECTS pro Semester. Sie sollten aber auch mit Ihrer Heimuniversität abklären, ob diese bestimmte Anforderungen betreffend Anzahl ECTS hat. 
Darf ich Kurse ausserhalb meines Studienfachs wählen? Die Mehrheit Ihrer Kurse muss aus dem Fach sein, welches Sie an Ihrer Heimuniversität studieren. Falls Sie aber die Auflagen für andere Kurse erfüllen, dürfen Sie einen oder zwei Module aus einem anderen Fachgebiet besuchen. 
Darf ich ETH-Kurse besuchen? Falls Sie Kurse an der ETH besuchen möchten, beachten Sie bitte, dass höchstens 2 Kurse, und nicht mehr als ein Drittel der gesamten ECTS Punkte an der ETH belegt werden dürfen. Prüfungen an der ETH finden normalerweise später als an der UZH statt, nämlich im August (für das Herbstsemester) und im Februar (für das Frühjahrssemester). Bitte stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie noch im Lande sind und die Prüfungen auch ablegen können. Da Sie an der ETH als UZH-Studierende registriert werden, haben Sie kein Anrecht auf die Privilegien von ETH-Austauschstudierenden. Die ETH ist eine andere Universität und wir können aus diesem Grund bei Angelegenheiten betreffend der ETH, oder Problemen mit Kursen an der ETH, keine administrative Unterstützung bieten. Aufgrund dieser Einschränkungen empfehlen wir, lediglich UZH-Kurse zu buchen.
Was passiert wenn ich eine Prüfung nicht bestehe? Wenn Sie eine Prüfung nicht bestehen, erhalten Sie keine ECTS für das Modul, und der Kurs wird als Fehlversuch in Ihrem Transcript gelistet. 
Brauche ich Deutschkenntnisse um bestimmte Kurse zu besuchen? Studierende, die Kurse in Deutscher oder Englischer Literatur und Linguistik besuchen möchten, müssen einen Sprachnachweis auf mindestens Niveau C1 gemäss der Skalierung des Gemeinsamen Europäischen Referenzrahmens (GER) einreichen. Für alle anderen Studierenden empfiehlt die UZH mindestens ein B2 in der Unterrichtssprache.
Wie kann ich Module buchen?

Eine Anleitung finden Sie hier.

Factsheet Modulbuchung (PDF, 367 KB)

Bewerbungsprozess

Frage Antwort
Kann ich mich für einen Austausch bewerben, ohne dass meine Heimuniversität ein Austauschabkommen mit der UZH hat? Bewerbung Freemovers, sog. "reguläre Gaststudierende"
Ich wurde für zwei Semester nominiert, die Daten stimmen auf Mobility Online aber nicht überein, obwohl ich in der Anmeldung zwei Semester angegeben habe.  Obwohl in der Anmeldung zwei Semester angegeben wurden, speichert Mobility Online die Bewerbung mit Standarddaten. Sobald wir die Bewerbungen begutachten, passen wir die Daten manuell an. 
Ich schliesse demnächst meine Bewerbung ab und habe bemerkt, dass mein Pass abgelaufen ist. Bis zur Bewerbungsfrist werde ich keinen Termin bekommen, um meinen Pass zu erneuern. Was soll ich tun? Um die Bewerbung abzuschliessen können Sie eine Kopie Ihres alten Passes hochladen. Wenn Sie den neuen Pass erhalten, senden Sie uns bitte eine Kopie via E-Mail. Falls Sie ein Visum benötigen beachten Sie bitte, dass wir den Prozess nur mit einem gültigen Pass einleiten können.
Wann weiss ich, ob ich angenommen wurde oder nicht? Für das Herbstsemester erhalten Sie den Bescheid im Mai, für das Frühlingssemester im November.

Was ist ein provisorischer/definitiver Study Plan und wieso muss ich diesen doppelt einreichen?

Achtung: dies gilt nicht für Studierende im SEMP-Programm

 

Der provisorische Study Plan muss mit der Bewerbung eingereicht werden. Er dient zum Eruieren der potentiellen Kurse im angestrebten Austauschsemester, und ob diese für Sie infrage kommen. Hierfür werden provisorisch Kurse der vergangen resp. des laufenden Semesters aufgeführt. Der definitive Study Plan wird vor Antritt der Semesters eingereicht und berücksichtigt die Kurse des Semesters, welches man an der UZH verbringt. Diese Kurse werden dann auch tatsächlich gebucht.
Wer unterzeichnet meine Study Plans? Was muss ich mit den vollständig unterschriebenen Study Plans machen? Ihr Study Plan muss von der Fachkoordination signiert werden, die für Ihr Fach/Studienprogramm zuständig sind. Bitte laden Sie Ihren von allen Seiten unterzeichneten Study Plan anschliessend auf Mobility Online hoch.

Finanzen

Frage Antwort

Wie bewerbe ich mich für ein SEMP-Stipendium?

Achtung: dies gilt nur für Studierende im SEMP-Programm

Mit der Bewerbung um einen Austauschplatz im SEMP-Programm bewerben Sie sich gleichzeitig für den Zuschuss. Eine weitere Bewerbung ist nicht notwendig.

Wann erhalte ich das SEMP-Stipendium?

Achtung: dies gilt nur für Studierende im SEMP-Programm

Ihr SEMP-Stipendium wird Ihnen zu Beginn des Semesters in Bar ausgezahlt.
Kann ich mich für die Heyning-Roelli Stiftung bewerben bevor ich meine Annahmebestätigung erhalten habe?

Ja. Bitte denken Sie aber daran, die Stiftung zu informieren, dass Sie das Dokument nachreichen werden.

Heyning-Roelli Stiftung

Während des Aufenthalts

Frage Antwort

Wer unterschreibt mein Learning Agreement? Was muss ich mit dem vollständig unterschriebenen Learning Agreement machen?

Achtung: dies betrifft nur SEMP-Studierende

Das Learning Agreement muss von Ihnen, Ihrer Heimuniversität und der Fachkoordination signiert werden, die für Ihr Fach/Studienprogramm zuständig sind. Bitte laden Sie Ihr von allen Seiten unterzeichnetes Learning Agreement auf Mobility Online hoch.
Wie buche ich Sprachkurse? Sprachkurse können auf der Webseite des Sprachenzentrums gebucht werden. Die Platzzahl ist begrenzt und Plätze werden nach Registrationszeitpunkt vergeben.
Wann finden die Prüfungen statt?

Die Prüfungstermine sind von Ihrer Fakultät abhängig. Bitte wenden Sie sich bei Fragen an Ihre Fachkoordination.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf ausgewählten Fakultätswebseiten:

Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät

Darf ich während des Studiums arbeiten? Ja, unter gewissen Auflagen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Abschluss des Aufenthalts

Wo und wann kann ich meinen Leistungsnachweis herunterladen? Leistungsnachweis
Können Sie meiner Heimuniversität meinen offiziellen Leistungsnachweis schicken?

Sie können Ihren Leistungsnachweis selbständig von Ihrem Student Portal herunterladen. Falls Ihre Heimuniversität einen Leistungsnachweis von Ihnen direkt nicht akzeptiert, können wir dieses im Ausnahmefall mit Ihrem Einverständnis weiterleiten (aus Datenschutzgründen müssen Sie uns das Dokument vorab zusenden). Ihre Heimuniversität hat auch die Möglichkeit, Ihren Leistungsnachweis zu verifizieren.

Wo kann ich mein Certificate of Attendance unterschreiben lassen? Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns um einen Termin auszumachen, oder senden Sie uns das entsprechende Dokument Ihrer Heimuniversität zur Unterschrift.
Was muss ich tun bevor ich die Schweiz verlasse? Vor der Abreise

 

Weitere Informationen zu Ihrem Aufenthalt an der UZH finden Sie in der Rubrik Organisatorisches und Praktisches