Living in Zurich

Table of contents

Housing

Finding suitable accommodations in Zurich can be difficult: Apartments are scarce and prices are high. As a city university, UZH does not provide on-campus living. We do, however, reserve a limited number of rooms for exchange students. 

Housing for Exchange Students

The rooms reserved for exchange students from our partner universities are administered by the Housing Office of the University and ETH Zurich. The Global Student Experience office provides exchange students with the necessary information about registering online for a room.

Please note that this option is only available to exchange students. Visiting students, trainees and degree-seeking students please consult the below information. 

 

Tipps for Finding Accommodation

The Housing Office also publishes an overview of useful addresses for reasonably-priced accommodation as well as for affordable living on short notice.

Housing Office of the University and ETH Zurich

Housing offers can also be found on the various notice boards in the University buildings. Another useful link for international students who are looking for accommodation in Zurich is the UZH/ETH online marketplace (Marktplatz).

Online Marketplace (most advertisements are in German)

 

Temporary Accommodation

It is often easier to look for accommodation once you are in Zurich. If you have not found a place to stay by the time you arrive, you might consider these options for a temporary stay:

Jugendherberge

City Backpacker 

Oldtown Hostel Otter

Life

Further Information on sustainability during your stay in Zurich here.

Sports

Students who love sports will be happy with the wide range of sports facilities and opportunities in Zurich. We highly recommend the courses offered at the Academic Sports Association Zurich (ASVZ) – which are generally free of charge for students.

Academic Sports Association Zurich (ASVZ)

City of Zurich Department of School and Sport

 

Culture and Entertainment

In Zurich you will discover a broad selection of cultural institutions and events. Students can buy tickets for various theater productions – including at the Opernhaus and Schauspielhaus Zürich – at reduced prices.

Züritipp (website in German only)

Website Zurich Tourism

Swiss museums

 

Transportation

The city and canton of Zurich have an excellent public transportation network with tramways, buses, regional trains, and boats. Most public transport providers offer discount to students.

ZVV (Canton of Zurich Public Transportation)

The Lake Zurich Navigation Company

SBB (Swiss Federal Railway) 

Half-fare Travelcards (Halbtax)

With the Half-fare travelcard you can travel half price on the entire Swiss public transport network, including all SBB railway routes, busses, boat and ferry crossings and even many private and mountain railways. Half-fare travelcards can be purchased at railway stations, you just need to bring a recent photograph and a valid identification document. If you’d like to buy a travelcard online, you’ll need an electronic picture, your ID or passport number and a credit card.

SBB half-fare travelcard

Seven25 Travel Card

If you’re under 25, then the Seven25 travel card might be a good addition to the half-fare travel card. It allows for unlimited travel only on trains from 7pm to 5am in 2nd class.

Seven25 travel card

Bicycles

Bicycles are an inexpensive alternative to public transportation. There are several "used bicycle markets" in Zurich:

Pro Velo Kanton Zürich(website in German only)

You can also borrow bicycles for free. Find out more here: Züri rollt

Working in Zurich

During the semester, you may accept a paid part-time job of no more than 15 working hours a week. Full-time employment is permitted during the regular semester vacations. However, in both cases, your employer will have to apply for your work permit at the cantonal office for economy and labor (AWA).

Please note: Bachelor students from third countries (countries outside EU/EFTA) must have lived in Switzerland for at least 6 months to obtain a work permit. The same is true for Master students from non-EU countries unless they get a job at their UZH institute.

Cantonal office for economy and labor (AWA)

Working while Studying - Study in Switzerland

UZH Career Services

Wohnen und Leben

Wohnen

Es kann manchmal schwierig sein, eine passende Unterkunft in Zürich zu finden. Der Wohnraum ist knapp und die Preise sind entsprechend hoch. Als Stadtuniversität kann die UZH keine Wohnmöglichkeiten auf den Campuses anbieten. Für Austauschstudierende verfügen wir jedoch über eine begrenzte Anzahl Zimmer in Studierendenwohnheimen. 

Zimmer für Austauschstudierende

Die Zimmer für Austauschstudierende werden durch die Zimmer- und Wohnungsvermittlung der UZH und ETHZ verwaltet. Austauschstudierende erhalten von Global Student Experience die relevanten Informationen zum Prozess der Zimmeranmeldung.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass dieses Angebot nur für Austauschstudierende gilt. Gaststudierende, Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten  orientieren sich bitte an den untenstehenden Informationen. Internationale Masterstudierende erhalten einen separaten Link zur Housing-Anmeldung in Ihrem Zulassungsbescheid.

 

Tipps zur Wohnungssuche

Die Zimmer- und Wohnungsvermittlungsstelle publiziert auch eine Übersicht guter Suchmöglichkeiten und kurzfristiger günstiger Unterkünfte.

Zimmer- und Wohnungsvermittlungsstelle UZH/ETH

In den Universitätsgebäuden und Instituten finden Sie Wohnungsangebote an den schwarzen Brettern. Hilfreich für die Suche aus dem Ausland ist der virtuelle Marktplatz der Universität.

UZH Marktplatz

 

Vorübergehende Unterkünfte

Oftmals ist es einfacher, vor Ort eine Unterkunft zu suchen. Wenn Sie bei Ihrer Ankunft noch keine Wohnmöglichkeit gefunden haben, bieten sich folgende Unterkünfte für einen vorübergehenden Aufenthalt an: 

Jugendherberge

City Backpacker 

Oldtown Hostel Otter

Leben

Weitere Informationen zu Nachhaltigkeit im Austausch finden Sie hier.

Sport

Sportbegeisterte kommen in Zürich voll auf ihre Kosten und profitieren von einer breiten Palette an Anlagen und Anbietern. Sehr zu empfehlen ist das Programm des Akademischen Sportverbands Zürich ASVZ, das für Studierende der UZH grösstenteils kostenlos ist.

Akademischer Sportverband Zürich (ASVZ)

Sportamt der Stadt Zürich

 

Kultur und Freizeit

In Zürich erwartet Sie ein vielfältiges Angebot an kulturellen Institutionen und Veranstaltungen. Verschiedene Institutionen wie das Opernhaus oder das Schauspielhaus Zürich bieten Tickets zu ermässigten Preisen für Studierende an. 

Züritipp

Zürich Tourismus

Museen in der Schweiz

 

Verkehr

Die Stadt Zürich hat ein dichtes und gut ausgebautes Netz an öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln. Die meisten Transportbetriebe bieten für Studierende Preisermässigungen an. Bitte informieren Sie sich direkt bei den zuständigen Unternehmen.

ZVV - Zürcher Verkehrsverbund

ZSG - Zürichsee Schifffahrtsgesellschaft

SBB - Schweizerische Bundesbahnen 

  • Halbtax

Mit dem Halbtax reisen Sie zum halben Preis auf dem gesamten öffentlichen Verkehrsnetz der Schweiz. Dazu zählen Zugstrecken, Busse, Schifffahrt und Fähren sowie einige private Bahnen und Bergbahnen. Das Halbtax können Sie online oder am Bahnschalter unter Vorweis einer gültigen Identitätskarte oder eines Reisepass und eines Passfotos erwerben. 

SBB Halbtax 

  • Seven25

Wenn Sie unter 25 Jahre alt sind, ist das Seven25 Abonnement eine gute Ergänzung zum Halbtax. Mit dem Gleis 7 fahren Sie zwischen 19 und 5 Uhr auf dem gesamten SBB-Streckennetz und bei zahlreichen privaten Bahnen umsonst.  

Seven25 Abo 

  • Fahrrad

Eine günstige Alternative ist das Fahrrad. Es gibt verschiedene Fahrradbörsen in der Stadt Zürich, wo neue und gebrauchte Fahrräder zum Kauf angeboten werden. Pro Velo Kanton Zürich

Sie können auch gratis Fahrräder mieten über Züri rollt.

Erwerbstätigkeit

Während des Semesters können Sie einer bezahlten Nebenbeschäftigung von bis zu 15 Stunden pro Woche nachgehen. Während der regulären Semesterferien ist ein Beschäftigungsumfang bis zu 100% möglich. In beiden Fällen muss jedoch der Arbeitgeber beim Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit (AWA) eine Arbeitsbewilligung für Sie einholen.

Achtung: Bachelorstudierenden aus Drittstaaten (Staaten ausserhalb der EU/EFTA) kann frühestens 6 Monate nach der Einreise eine Arbeitsbewilligung erteilt werden. Masterstudierenden aus Drittstaaten kann in den ersten sechs Monaten ihres Aufenthalts nur eine Bewilligung für eine Arbeit innerhalb ihres UZH-Instituts erteilt werden.

Webseite Amt für Wirtschaft und Arbeit (AWA)

Webseite von Study in Switzerland

UZH Career Services