Information for Refugees

The University of Zurich wants to help refugees gain access to university education. The International Relations Office is responsible for coordinating the various services available.

Refugees who are interested in studying at the university should contact the International Relations Office. Please fill in our contact form.

Please have also a look at our subpage Other Education Options to find out more about various internal and external education options and counselling services

Studying at the University of Zurich

Refugees who would like to complete a Bachelor’s degree, Master’s degree, or PhD at the University of Zurich must follow the regular admission requirements. A summary of all the key information and helpful links can be found on our info sheet (PDF, 192 KB). Please contact us if you have any other questions.

You will find general information on the Swiss education and university system at www.perspektiven-studium.ch, a website run by the Swiss Student Union, VSS. Moreover, Swissuniversities issues recommendations of recognition for holders of foreign higher education qualifications and keeps a list showing the admission requirements of the Swiss universities for people with foreign education but without a Bachelors degree. 

Discovery Program for Refugees

The discovery program is a joint project of the International Relations Office and the VSUZH. It enables refugees to attend lectures as guest auditors and to experience student life at the University of Zurich.

The discovery program lasts two semesters from mid-September to the end of May 2020. It is designed for refugees holding a Bachelor's degree from a foreign unversity. Please find more information using this link.

Scholars at Risk

The University of Zurich is a member of the Scholars at Risk organization. Scholars at Risk is an international network of universities working to safeguard academic freedom and protect researchers who are under threat.

The University of Zurich is also a member of the Scholars at Risk Switzerland Section, founded in 2017.

Informationen für Flüchtlinge

Die Universität Zürich möchte Flüchtlinge beim Hochschulzugang unterstützen. Die verschiedenen Angebote werden von der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen koordiniert.

Flüchtlinge, die sich für ein Studium oder das Schnuppersemester interessieren, können die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen kontaktieren. Bitte füllen Sie dafür unser Kontaktformular aus.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, auch unsere Unterseite Weitere Bildungsangebote zu besuchen. Hier erfahren Sie mehr über weitere Bildungs- und Beratungsangebote.

Studium an der Universität Zürich

Für Flüchtlinge, die ein Bachelor-, Master- oder Doktoratsstudium an der UZH absolvieren möchten, gelten die regulären Zulassungsbedingungen. Eine Zusammenfassung der wichtigsten Informationen und weiterführende Links finden Sie in unserem Merkblatt (PDF, 192 KB). Bei weiteren Fragen helfen wir Ihnen gerne weiter.

Generelle Informationen über das Schweizer Bildungs- und Hochschulsystem finden Sie auf www.perspektiven-studium.ch, einer Website des Verbands der Schweizer Studierendenschaften VSS. Swissuniversities stellt ausserdem Anerkennungsempfehlungen für ausländische Hochschuldiplome aus und führt eine Liste, auf der die Zulassungsbedingungen für Personen mit ausländischer Vorbildung aber ohne Bachelorabschluss aufgezeigt werden.

Schnupperprogramm für Flüchtlinge

Das Schnupperprogramm ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen und des VSUZH. Mit dem Schnupperprogramm können Flüchtlinge als Gasthörerin oder Gasthörer Vorlesungen besuchen und somit einen Einblick in den Studienalltag an der Universität Zürich gewinnen.

Das Schnupperprogramm ist zweisemestrig und dauert von Mitte September 2019 bis Ende Mai 2020. Es richtet sich an Flüchtlinge mit einem Bachelor-Abschluss. Mehr Informationen finden Sie hier.

Scholars at Risk

Die Universität Zürich ist Mitglied der Organisation "Scholars at Risk". Scholars at Risk ist ein internationales Netzwerk von Hochschulen, das sich für die Wahrung der akademischen Freiheit und für den Schutz von bedrohten Forschenden einsetzt.

Die Universität Zürich ist ebenfalls Mitglied der 2017 gegründeten Schweizer Sektion von Scholars at Risk.