Bilateral Research Promotion Programs of the Swiss Government

Collaboration with Priority Countries

As part of its foreign policy in research, the federal government supports collaboration in research and scholarship with selected non-European countries. Priority countries include Japan and South Korea, as well as the BRICS countries – Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. These countries were first defined in 2008 and confirmed in the Federal Dispatch on Education, Research and Innovation for the years 2013 to 2016. The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) has established bilateral research promotion programs with these countries.

Promotion of education, research and innovation for 2013-2016

Government Scholarships

Swissuniversities announces the current government scholarship offers from foreign authorities on their website. Most of the scholarships are published between September and March.