Worldwide Agreements

Types of Agreements

The following global bilateral agreements can be signed: 

  • Memorandum of Understanding (MoU)
  • Student and faculty (instructor) exchange agreement

Both types of agreements, MoU and Exchange Agreement, can be made at the following levels: University of Zurich, one of the seven Faculties of the UZH, or an institute at the UZH. For an MoU or Exchange Agreement there are UZH templates, which can be adapted depending on the negotiations.

Memoranda of Understanding - Template and Writing Guide

Exchange Agreements - Template and Writing Guide

Guide for Research Agreements

Procedure for agreements

The International Relations Office serves as the main contact for units initiating an MoU or Exchange Agreement. The agreement must be approved by the Office of International Relations (content aspects) in consultation with UZH Legal Services (legal aspects). On the part of UZH, two signatories are required; one signatory must be a member of the Executive Board of the University. The International Relations Office coordinates the obtaining of the signatures and archives the original documents in consultation with UZH Legal Services. The steps to be followed when negotiating agreements are described in detail in the Procedure for Agreements (see box).

Initiating agreements

Agreements at the level of the institute or Faculty are usually initiated by teaching staff. Agreements at the university level are negotiated by the International Relations Office in cooperation with the Faculties.

Weltweite Abkommen

Vertragsarten

Weltweit können folgende Verträge unterzeichnet werden: 

  • Absichtserklärungen (Memorandum of Understanding, MoU)
  • Abkommen zum Austausch von Studierenden und Dozierenden (Exchange Agreement)

Beide Vertragsarten können auf gesamtuniversitärer, fakultärer oder auf Institutsebene abgeschlossen werden. Für beide Vertragsarten liegen Musterverträge der UZH vor, welche je nach Verhandlung abgeändert werden können.

Mustervertrag und Leitfaden Memoranda of Understanding

Mustervertrag und Leitfaden Exchange Agreements

Abkommen in Zusammenhang mit Forschung

Vorgehen beim Abschluss von Verträgen

Die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen ist die zu kontaktierende Stelle, wenn ein MoU oder Exchange Agreement ausgehandelt und unterschrieben werden soll. Sie prüft die Verträge inhaltlich und arbeitet bei der rechtlichen Prüfung mit dem Rechtsdienst zusammen. Seitens der UZH bedarf es immer einer Doppelunterschrift, wobei eine Unterschrift von einem Universitätsleitungsmitglied erforderlich ist. Die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen koordiniert das Einholen der Unterschriften und archiviert in Absprache mit dem Rechtsdienst die Originalverträge. Der Prozessablauf beim Aushandeln von Verträgen beschreibt die einzelnen Schritte im Detail (siehe Box).

Initiierung von Verträgen

Abkommen auf Institus- bzw. Fakultätsebene werden in der Regel von Dozierenden initiiert. Die Aushandlung von gesamtuniversitären Abkommen liegt bei der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kommission Internationale Beziehungen oder mit den Fakultäten.

Kommission Internationale Beziehungen