Before the Exchange

Learning Agreement

Before leaving for your exchange, you are obliged to draw up a learning agreement with your departmental coordinator. This serves to clarify which credits earned abroad will count towards your degree in Zurich.

You need to create the Learning Agreement directly in Mobility Online. Please log in to Mobility Online with your login data and go to the corresponding step in the pipeline. There you will also find an information sheet about how to set up the Learning Agreement. Furthermore, we will send you an e-mail with all the important information in good time.

If the partner university requires to use its own template, you can also use that one and upload a signed version of it. You can find more information in the information sheet of the Learning Agreement.

Grant Contract

By applying for an exchange within the framework of the Swiss-European Mobility Programme, you automatically apply for a grant funded by the Federal Government. In order to be awarded a grant, you are first required to sign a grant contract (“Verpflichtungserklärung/Declaration of Obligation”) and upload it in Mobility Online within the prescribed deadline. We will send you the document by e-mail and you can also find it in Mobility Online.

The grant for the academic year 2017/18 amounts to CHF 1’500 per semester.

If you already receive a cantonal grant, you continue to be eligible for this support, even if you are awarded a mobility grant.

During the Exchange

Payment of the Grant

The grant is paid in two installments. The first installment (80% of the total amount) is paid at the beginning of the exchange, provided you have uploaded your signed “Verpflichtungserklärung” (Declaration of Obligation) and a valid Learning Agreement. You will receive the second installment (20%) at the end of your exchange abroad after uploading your experience report and the Certificate of Attendance. 

Changes to the Learning Agreement

Any changes to the learning agreement must always be discussed with the responsible offices at the University of Zurich and at the partner university. The changes to the Learning Agreement have to be registered directly in Mobility Online. You can find more information to this in the information sheet about the Learning Agreement in Mobility Online.

Extension of the Exchange

To extend the period of your exchange within the current academic year, i.e. from the Fall Semester to the Spring Semester, both the partner university and the departmental coordinator at UZH must agree. You can apply for an extension in Mobility Online. The possibility of further funding will be reviewed at the time of the extension, but cannot be guaranteed.

It is not possible to extend the exchange stay from the Spring Semester to the Fall Semester. In this case you have to re-apply for an exchange place in the Fall Semester.  

Discontinuation / Non-commencement of the Exchange

If you wish to discontinue your exchange or not to commence it at all, you are required to inform the responsible office at the partner university, your departmental coordinator at UZH, and the International Relations Office via e-mail, stating the reasons for your decision. Excess grant payments must be repaid.

After the Exchange

Experience Report

At the end of your exchange, you are required to write an experience report in Mobility Online. We will send you an e-mail with further information in good time.

Certificate of Attendance

At the end of your exchange, you must obtain a Certificate of Attendance from the partner university clearly stating the dates of your study period abroad. A template for the certificate will be sent to you by e-mail and you can also download it in Mobility Online. However, you can as well use a form provided by the partner university.

Payment of the Second Grant Installment

The second installment of the grant (20%) will be paid once your experience report and the Certificate of Attendance are online and accepted by us. Students who do not submit the compulsory documents must repay the entire sum of the funding already paid to them.

Transcript of Records and Transfer of Credit

The partner university should send you your transcript of records directly. You are therefore required to give the partner university your home address. If the transcript of records is sent to us, we will inform you by e-mail so that you can collect it at our desk.

Responsibility for the transfer of credits earned abroad lies with the departments, institutes, and faculties. If you have any questions regarding the transfer of credits, please consult the applicable office and submit your transcript of records to them.

Organisatorisches

Vor dem Aufenthalt

Learning Agreement

Es ist zwingend erforderlich, dass Sie vor Antritt des Austauschaufenthalts mit der Fachkoordination ein Learning Agreement erarbeiten. Dieses dient der Klärung, welche im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen für Ihr Studium in Zürich angerechnet werden können.

Das Learning Agreement erfassen Sie direkt in Mobility Online. Bitte loggen Sie sich dazu mit Ihren Zugangsdaten ein und gehen Sie zum entsprechenden Schritt in der Pipeline. Sie finden dort auch ein Merkblatt zum Learning Agreement mit allen wichtigen Informationen. Wir werden Sie zudem vorgängig per E-Mail informieren.

Falls die Partneruniversität verlangt, dass ihre Vorlage verwendet wird, können Sie auch diese verwenden und unterzeichnet hochladen. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie im Merkblatt des Learning Agreements.

Stipendienvertrag

Mit der Bewerbung für den Austausch im Rahmen des Swiss-European Mobility Programme bewerben Sie sich gleichzeitig für ein vom Bund finanziertes Stipendium. Als eine Voraussetzung für die Auszahlung des Stipendiums müssen Sie einen Stipendienvertrag („Verpflichtungserklärung“) unterzeichnen und fristgerecht in Mobility Online hochladen. Wir werden Ihnen die Verpflichtungserklärung rechtzeitig per Mail schicken und Sie finden diese auch in Mobility Online.

Die Höhe des Stipendiums für das akademische Jahr 2017/18 beträgt CHF 1500.- pro Semester.

Wenn Sie bereits kantonale Stipendien erhalten, können Sie diese weiter beziehen, auch wenn Sie ein Mobilitätsstipendium erhalten.

Während des Aufenthalts

Auszahlung des Stipendiums

Das Stipendium wird in zwei Raten ausbezahlt. Nach Hochladen der unterschriebenen Verpflichtungserklärung und eines gültigen Learning Agreement erfolgt zu Beginn des Austauschaufenthalts die Auszahlung einer ersten Rate (80 % des Gesamtbetrags). Die zweite Rate (20%) erhalten Sie nach dem Hochladen Ihres Erfahrungsberichts und der Aufenthaltsbestätigung am Ende des Aufenthalts. 

Änderungen des Learning Agreement

Allfällige Änderungen des Learning Agreement sind immer mit den zuständigen Stellen an der Universität Zürich und an der Partneruniversität abzusprechen. Die Änderungen nehmen Sie direkt in Mobility Online vor. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie im Merkblatt zum Learning Agreement in Mobility Online.

Verlängerung des Aufenthalts

Eine Verlängerung des Austauschaufenthalts innerhalb des laufenden akademischen Jahres, d.h. vom Herbst- auf das Frühjahrssemester muss sowohl von der Partneruniversität als auch von der Fachkoordination an der UZH unterstützt werden. Sie können die Verlängerung in Mobility Online beantragen. Die Vergabe eines weiteren Stipendiums wird zum Zeitpunkt der Verlängerung geprüft, kann aber nicht garantiert werden.

Die Verlängerung des Austausches vom Frühjahrs- auf das Herbstsemester ist nicht möglich. In diesem Fall müssen Sie sich erneut für einen Austauschplatz im Herbstsemester bewerben.

Abbruch / Nicht-Antritt des Aufenthalts

Über einen Abbruch bzw. Nicht-Antritt des Austauschaufenthalts müssen Sie die zuständige Stelle an der Partneruniversität, die Fachkoordinationen der entsprechenden Studienfächer an der UZH sowie die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen unter Angabe der Gründe schriftlich informieren. Zu viel ausbezahlte Stipendien müssen zurückerstattet werden.

Nach dem Aufenthalt

Erfahrungsbericht

Am Ende Ihres Austauschs müssen Sie in Mobility Online einen Erfahrungsbericht verfassen. Sie erhalten dazu vorgängig eine E-Mail mit weiteren Informationen.  

Aufenthaltsbestätigung der Partneruniversität

Am Ende Ihres Austauschs müssen Sie eine Bestätigung der Partneruniversität einholen und hochladen, auf der die Daten Ihres Studienaufenthalts ersichtlich sind. Eine Vorlage für die Aufenthaltsbestätigung erhalten Sie von uns per E-Mail und kann in Mobility Online heruntergeladen werden. Sie können aber auch ein Formular der Partneruniversität benützen.

Auszahlung der zweiten Stipendienrate

Erst wenn Ihr Erfahrungsbericht und die Aufenthaltsbestätigung der Partneruniversität online eingereicht und von uns akzeptiert wurden, kann die zweite Rate des Stipendiums (20 %) ausbezahlt werden. Studierende, die die obligatorischen Dokumente nicht einreichen, müssen das bereits ausbezahlte Stipendium vollumfänglich zurückzahlen.

Leistungsausweis und Anrechnung

Der Leistungsausweis (Transcript of Records) sollte Ihnen von der Partneruniversität direkt zugeschickt werden. Geben Sie daher der Partneruniversität Ihre Heimadresse bekannt. Wird Ihr Leistungsausweis an uns geschickt, informieren wir Sie per E-Mail, damit Sie ihn bei uns am Schalter abholen können.

Die Anrechnung von im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen liegt in der Verantwortung der Seminare, Institute und Fakultäten. Bitte wenden Sie sich mit Fragen zur Anrechnung direkt an die zuständige Stelle und reichen Sie Ihr Transcript of Records dort ein.