Financing for Exchange and Studying Abroad

Financing for Exchange

Heyning-Roelli Foundation
The Heyning-Roelli Foundation supports talented but financially disadvantaged students with contributions towards travel and living costs. The benefits are aimed at Bachelor’s and Master’s students who wish to study for one or two semesters at a partner university within the framework of an exchange program (SEMP or worldwide agreements).

  Heyning-Roelli Foundation

 

Exchange Programs
Exchange students may be entitled to receive a grant within the framework of the particular program:

  • SEMP students generally receive a grant to cover travel and living costs. For 2018/19, the subsidy amounts to CHF 1,600 per semester.
  • Students doing an exchange stay in the framework of a university-wide agreement may receive a financial contribution from the University of Zurich.
  • Some partner universities may also offer grants to exchange students.

Swiss-European Mobility Programme

Worldwide University-Wide Exchange Agreements

 

Strategic Partnership with the University of Geneva
The University of Zurich supports the exchange with its strategic partner in the University of Geneva. UZH students, who study one or two semesters at the University of Geneva in the framework of CH-Unimobil, can apply for a scholarship from the International Relations Office. To apply, please fill in the application form (PDF, 699 KB) and send all the required documents to email address mentioned in the form by the deadline.

 

Scholarships from the Italian Government
The Italian government awards scholarships each year to a few selected students (MA, PhD) from Swiss universities, who plan to study or research for one or two semesters at an Italian university.

Interested students can apply at the International Relations Office. The International Relations Office will nominate good applications from students who could not go on an exchange in Italy through the SEMP programme. After being nominated students then will need to apply at the Italian embassy in Bern, who will make the final decision on awarding the scholarships.

Please send your applications as a PDF file to erasmus@int.uzh.ch. The deadline is March 10 (for the following academic year).

For more information on the application documents please visit here

Website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

 

Funding Instruments Iran
Undergraduate and master students of the University of Zurich who wish to complete a study stay at an Iranian institution of higher education can apply for a scholarship granted by the cooperation between UZH and Iranian institutions. A maximum of CHF 1'200 per month and person can be applied for. The next closing date for applications concerning the academic year 2018/19 is March 16, 2018.

Further information on the scholarships and the related requirements can be found here.

 

Mobility Loans from the Student Financial Aid Office
Students have the possibility to apply for loans for their exchange stay at the Student Financial Aid Office.

You can find more information here.

Financing for Studying Abroad

Fondation Zdenek et Michaela Bakala
Registered in Geneva, the Fondation Zdenek et Michaela Bakala supports talented Master’s students and doctoral candidates who wish to study or conduct research outside of an exchange program at a prestigious British or American university.

Information on Bakala-Stiftung

Website Fondation Zdenek et Michaela Bakala

 

Scholarships from swissuniversities for Studies Abroad
On behalf of the Swiss government, the scholarship service run by swissuniversities manages scholarships offered by foreign governments to Swiss students and, in some cases, to researchers for a stay abroad.

swissuniversities

 

Zeno Karl Schindler Foundation
The purpose of the Zeno Karl Schindler Foundation is the encouragement, development and support of top research in the fields of engineering and environmental sciences, in the field of all medieval disciplines (languages and literature, philology, history, history of art, musicology, philosophy, theology, "Medieval Studies") as well as in the field of 
Digital Humanities at the intersection of Medieval Disciplines and Computing.

Zeno Karl Schindler Foundation
 

Other Financing Opportunities

Student Financial Aid Office
The Student Financial Aid Office is the office that deals with all matters related to financial assistance at the University of Zurich. The staff there helps UZH students with limited resources and low parental income obtain grants and loans. They also support students in the event of short-term financial straits, help lodge appeals, provide information on student rights, and offer comprehensive advice on all financial matters.

Student Financial Aid Office

 

Office of Funding for Individuals and Projects
For further financing options, please refer to the Office of Funding for Individuals and Projects. The office provides information and advice to junior academics on research funding and grants for junior researchers, on opportunities for participating in European Union research programs, and on options for cooperating with the private sector and promoting the related technology transfer. You will find information about various funding opportunities for studying and working abroad on the office’s website.

 Funding for Individuals and Projects

Finanzierung für Austauschaufenthalte und Studium an einer Universität

Finanzierung für Austauschaufenthalte

Heyning-Roelli Stiftung
Die Heyning-Roelli Stiftung unterstützt mit finanziellen Beiträgen an Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten begabte, aber wirtschaftlich schwache Studierende. Zielgruppe sind Bachelor- und Masterstudierende, die im Rahmen eines Austauschprogramms (SEMP oder weltweite Abkommen) ein oder zwei Semester an einer Partneruniversität studieren möchten.

 

Austauschprogramme
Austauschstudierende können im Rahmen des jeweiligen Programms ein Stipendium erhalten:

  • SEMP-Studierende erhalten in der Regel einen Zuschuss zur Deckung der Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten. Der Zuschuss beträgt 2018/19 CHF 1600.- pro Semester.
  • Je nach Abkommen erhalten Sie eine finanzielle Unterstützung. Die Höhe des Stipendiums ist je nach Abkommen unterschiedlich. Falls kein Stipendium durch die Partnerinstitution ausbezahlt wird, erhalten Sie evtl. ein Teilstipendium von der Universität Zürich.

Swiss-European Mobility Programme

Weltweite gesamtuniversitäre Austauschabkommen

 

UZH Stipendien für einen Studienaufenthalt an der Universität Genf

Im Rahmen der Strategischen Partnerschaft zwischen den Universitäten Zürich und Genf können sich UZH Studierende, die mit CH-Unimobil im Herbstsemester 2018 an der Universität Genf studieren möchten, für ein Stipendium in der Höhe von 1'000 CHF bewerben. Die Bewerbungsfrist ist der 30. Mai 2018. Schicken Sie das ausgefüllte Bewerbungsformular (PDF, 634 KB) und die nachfolgenden Dokumente an exchange@int.uzh.ch  

  1. Motivationsschreiben (Maximal eine Seite in Deutsch, Französisch oder Englisch)
  2. Lebenslauf
  3. Studienplan für den Aufenthalt an der Universität Genf (PDF, 75 KB)
  4. Aktueller Leistungsnachweis 

 

Stipendium des italienischen Staates
Der italienische Staat vergibt jährlich einige wenige Stipendien für Studierende (MA, PhD) an Schweizer Universitäten, die ein oder zwei Semester an einer italienischen Universität studieren oder forschen möchten.

Interessierte Studierende bewerben sich bei der Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen. Diese unterstützt gute Bewerbungen von Studierenden, die nicht über ein SEMP-Abkommen nach Italien gehen können. Danach folgt die Bewerbung bei der italienischen Botschaft in Bern, die über die endgültige Vergabe der Stipendien entscheidet.

Die Bewerbung ist als PDF jeweils bis am 25. April (Bewerbungen für das folgende akademische Jahr) an folgende E-Mail-Adresse zu senden: erasmus@int.uzh.ch

Für Informationen zu den nötigen Bewerbungsunterlagen siehe hier

Informationen des Ministero degli Affari Esteri e della Cooperazione Internazionale zum Stipendium (PDF, 422 KB)

 

Förderprogramm Iran
Bachelor- und Musterstudierende der Universität Zürich, die an einer iranischen Universität einen Studienaufenthalt absolvieren möchten, können sich um ein Stipendium der Kooperationsförderung zwischen der UZH und iranischen Institutionen bewerben. Maximal können CHF 1'200 pro Monat und Person beantragt werden. Die nächste Bewerbungsfrist für das akademische Jahr 18/19 läuft bis am 16. März 2018.

Weitere Informationen und Angaben zu den detaillierten Voraussetzungen für den Erhalt der Stipendien finden sie hier.
 

Finanzierung für das Studium an einer Universität im Ausland

Fondation Zdenek et Michaela Bakala
Die in Genf registrierte Fondation Zdenek et Michaela Bakala unterstützt begabte Masterstudierende und Doktorierende, die auch ausserhalb eines Austauschprogramms an einer renommierten britischen oder US-amerikanischen Universität studieren beziehungsweise forschen möchten.

Informationen zur Bakala-Stiftung

Website Fondation Zdenek et Michaela Bakala

 

Stipendien für Auslandstudien von swissuniversities
Der Stipendiendienst von swissuniversities betreut im Auftrag des Bundes die ausländischen Regierungsstipendien, die Schweizer Studierenden und teilweise Forschenden für einen Auslandstudienaufenthalt offeriert werden.

swissuniversities

 

Zeno Karl Schindler Stiftung
Das Ziel der Zeno Karl Schindler Stiftung ist die Spitzenforschung in den Gebieten der Naturwissenschaften, Technologie und des Umwelt-Engineering, der mittelalterlichen Sprachen und Literatur unter Einschluss aller anderen mittelalterlichen Bereiche (Geschichte, Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie, Philologie, Theologie und Musikwissenschaften, "Medieval Studies"), sowie “Digital Humanities” als Verbindung von Technik und Medieval Studies zu unterstützen, zu fördern und zu entwickeln.

Zeno Karl Schindler Stiftung

Weitere Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten

Beratungsstelle Studienfinanzierung
Die Beratungsstelle Studienfinanzierung ist Anlaufstelle für alle Fragen rund um die Studienfinanzierung an der Universität Zürich. Sie vermittelt UZH-Studierenden mit knappen Ressourcen und tiefen Elterneinkommen Stipendien und Darlehen, unterstützt bei kurzfristigen Engpässen, hilft bei Rekursen, informiert über die Rechte der Studierenden und berät diese umfassend in allen finanziellen Belangen.

Beratungsstelle Studienfinanzierung

 

Fachstelle Projekt- und Personenförderung
Weitere Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten finden Sie bei der Fachstelle Projekt- und Personenförderung. Die Fachstelle informiert und berät Forschende und Nachwuchskräfte über Forschungsbeiträge und Nachwuchsstipendien, über die Beteiligung an Forschungsprogrammen der Europäischen Union sowie über die Zusammenarbeit mit der Privatwirtschaft und den damit verbundenen Technologietransfer. Auf der Website der Fachstelle finden sich Informationen zu diversen Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten von Auslandaufenthalten.

  Fachstelle Projekt- und Personenförderung