UZH International

Key Figures

UZH is a dynamic institution of higher learning with a broad international reach. In keeping with its global commitment, the University recruits outstanding researchers worldwide, fosters international cooperation in research and teaching, and promotes international student exchange. 

Key Figures

International Network

The University of Zurich cooperates in research and teaching with over 330 institutions located in some 60 countries. It specifically seeks networking relationships with institutions of particular interest to UZH faculties, institutes, and departments. It also supports initiatives that, from the University’s strategic point of view, will create value for UZH, enhance its international exposure, and raise its networking potential. 

International Network

International Initiatives

Networking on an international scale helps strengthen the University’s global presence. With this in mind, the International Relations Office organizes and supports international networking initiatives in cooperation with UZH members and also with external partners. Aims focus on raising the recognition of the University both in the academic arena and beyond, while enhancing the attractiveness of Zurich as a destination at the same time.

International Initiatives

Internationalization Strategy of the University of Zurich

Our internationalization strategy for the years 2014–2020 formulates the institutional goals for ensuring UZH's continued global presence in the areas of research and teaching, and for promoting UZH as a whole.

UZH Internationalization Strategy

International Relations Commission

The International Relations Commission develops strategic priorities for the University's international policy and the action plan required to achieve the set goals. 

International Relations Commission

Strategic Partnerships

Building strategic partnerships is one of the measures prioritized by the Executive Board of the University in the UZH internationalization strategy. Strategic partnerships with other comparable institutions lead not only to greater cooperation in research and teaching but also in administrative matters.

Strategic Partnerships

Bilateral Research Promotion Porgrams of the Swiss Government

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) has developed programs to advance research collaboration with priority countries. SERI charges two Swiss universities with the implementation of each of the programs. The University of Zurich is Associate Leading House in the programs undertaken with China and Japan.

Bilateral Research Promotion Programs

The Swiss Science Network Abroad

The University of Zurich cultivates regular contact with the Swiss Knowledge Network Abroad in order to strengthen Switzerland's standing as a place of scholarship. 

The Swiss Science Network Abroad

UZH International

Wichtigste Kennzahlen

Die UZH versteht sich als Universität mit internationaler Ausstrahlung. Sie rekrutiert exzellente Forschende weltweit, pflegt die internationale Zusammenarbeit in Forschung und Lehre und fördert den Austausch von Studierenden. 

Wichtigste Kennzahlen

Internationale Vernetzung

Die Universität Zürich arbeitet in Forschung und Lehre mit über 330 Institutionen in rund 60 Ländern zusammen. Sie strebt die gezielte Vernetzung mit Institutionen an, die für ihre Fakultäten und Institute von Interesse sind. Darüber hinaus werden Initiativen unterstützt, die der UZH aus strategischer Sicht einen Mehrwert bringen und ihre internationale Sichtbarkeit und Vernetzung stärken.

Datenbank Universitätskooperation

Internationale Initiativen

Eine breite internationale Vernetzung trägt zur Stärkung der internationalen Sichtbarkeit der UZH bei. Die Abteilung Internationale Beziehungen organisiert und unterstützt deshalb entsprechende Initiativen in Zusammenarbeit mit Angehörigen der UZH aber auch externen Partnern. Ziel ist es, die UZH sowohl im akademischen Umfeld als auch darüber hinaus bekannter zu machen und gleichzeitig einen Beitrag zur Standortattraktivität des Raums Zürich zu leisten.

Internationale Initiativen

Internationalisierungsstrategie

Die Internationalisierungsstrategie der UZH 2014-2020 formuliert institutionelle Ziele für die weitere Internationalisierung in den Bereichen Forschung und Lehre sowie für die UZH insgesamt.

Internationalisierungsstrategie der UZH

Kommission Internationale Beziehungen

Die Kommission Internationale Beziehungen erarbeitet strategische Schwerpunkte der Internationalisierung sowie die zu deren Umsetzung notwendigen Massnahmen.

Kommission Internationale Beziehungen

Strategische Partnerschaften

Der Aufbau von strategischen Partnerschaften ist eine von der Universitätsleitung als prioritär erklärte Massnahme der Internationalisierungsstrategie der Universität Zürich. Strategische Partnerschaften zu anderen vergleichbaren Institutionen umfassen eine vertiefte Zusammenarbeit sowohl in den Bereichen Forschung und Lehre, als auch den Austausch auf Verwaltungsebene.

Strategische Partnerschaften

Bilaterale Forschungsprogramme des Bundes

Das Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) hat Programme zur Förderung der Forschungszusammenarbeit mit Schwerpunktländern etabliert. Das SBFI hat jeweils zwei Schweizer Hochschulen mit der Umsetzung der Programme betraut. Die Universität Zürich nimmt die Rolle des "Associate Leading House" der Programme mit China und Japan wahr.

Bilaterale Programme mit Schwerpunktländern

Das Schweizer Wissenschaftsnetz im Ausland

Die Universität Zürich steht in regelmässigem Kontakt mit dem Schweizer Wissenschaftsnetz im Ausland und trägt so zur Positionierung des Wissenschaftsstandorts Schweiz bei.

Das Schweizer Wissenschaftsnetz